O Let him live

A crib with downy pillows

Soft blankets with ducks

With soft fingers like willows

Him his father tucks

 

O let him live

O Let him be

O God please give

A child to me

 

Desperate, hopeful we wait,

Our hearts full of fears

Impatient to hear his fate

What will fill our tears

 

O let him live

O Let him be

O God please give

The child to me

 

O then he comes,

my child to meet

Excited am I

To hear his heart beat.

The doctors surround him

To give him a chance

The odds are all grim

Slow, the moments advance.

 

You do not believe them

You think it a dream

When they pronounce

Time of death, 5:23

This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to O Let him live

  1. That is so sad I almosted cried. I hate how we lose the next generation of our world.

    • vozey says:

      If you ever have to live through it, the hardest thing you will ever do is bury one of your children.

    • vozey says:

      I did look at your blog. You have some interesting posts and a passion for writing. For a young teenager, you have a lot of dedication. At your age, I was thinking I wanted to be a poet one day. Then, I wanted to be a singer. Then, I wanted to be something else. I’m working as a computer programmer now. Your interests lead you to where you want to be. I’ve always chased my dreams, and I encourage you to, too. Surprisingly, though, now I’m pushing to be a writer one day. Poetry might help me get there.

      I still have all my old poems from when I was your age. Though, looking back, they are half-inspiring and half-silly. Namely, because time changes things, our set of problems and our mindset as we grow older.

      Keep writing, even if when you think you don’t want to be a poet/writer. Don’t let high school or college burn you out either. Write what you want to write.

      • Thank you. I will keep writing peoms, besides dancing, writing is another way for me to express myself when I am in the moment of hurt or sadness etc.

  2. dvb t says:

    I intended to create you the very small observation in order to thank you so much yet again for your magnificent information you have contributed on this site. This has been certainly surprisingly open-handed with people like you to present without restraint all that most of us would’ve offered for an ebook in making some cash for themselves, principally seeing that you could have done it in case you decided. The secrets in addition worked to become fantastic way to fully grasp that other individuals have a similar fervor like my own to know very much more pertaining to this issue. I think there are a lot more pleasant sessions in the future for those who find out your blog post.

Leave a Reply

