Speed Reading 3 : How to Change the World of Entertainment

I was thinking the other day about why I find so few readers out there as opposed to scatter-brained bloggers. I’ve been trying to keep up with a few blogs (just as I try to keep up with books), and it can be really challenging, especially since I read only slightly faster than a kindergartner.

The average person reads less than 200 word per minute. That is like three words a second. That is really slow. Especially when there a few readers out there that can read over 1000 words a minute.

I’ve noticed that are minds are capable of reading words much faster than we make it. We let out minds play lazy, that is a big part of why we read so slow. Trying to read faster works.

But, the other day, the numbers really sunk in to a deeper meaning. If you ever wonder why people don’t read the books, they watch the movies, or just why people choose to watch TV more often than they used to read.

Let’s look at the amount of time it takes to read a novel vs the time it takes to watch a movie. Movies are usually less than 2 hours, usually about 90 minutes. But given an average book of 60,000 words (300+ pages), it would take us 5 hours to read the book.

If we can get 90% of the story in less than two hours, who is going to spend the time on the book? If we can turn the reading speeds of this generation around, bringing it to even 500 words a minute, books would have more competition with the visual market and people would enjoy reading more thoroughly.

If you don’t think it is possible, I’ve went from 150 words per minute to almost 300 in just a couple of weeks. Spreeder
is a little tool I find useful for developing and measuring my progress.

Join me in changing the world of entertainment, let’s read more.

This entry was posted in Practice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Speed Reading 3 : How to Change the World of Entertainment

  1. KraftedKhaos says:

    I *think* I’m a fast reader. I’ve never timed myself, but depending on the size of the book, I can read anywhere from 3 – 6 books a day if left generally undisturbed. 3 being the thicker books. I read fiction MUCH faster than I read non-fiction. Non-fiction slows me down because I have to take it in and think about what I’m reading more. I can breeze through most fiction (unless it’s full of strange words and/or in strange environments).

    When I was younger, my dad would swear that I skipped pages in books, and was faking having read the entire thing, and so he would quiz me by picking up the book I’d just finished, opening it randomly, and asking me about whatever had happened there, or he would ask me about the book, and I’d give him a pretty detailed summary, and he was always surprised. But I’m not a speed reader by any means. If I try to read too fast, I cannot retain what I have read, and will find myself re-reading the same paragraph several times because it’s not sinking in.

    I love to read, and I feel that readers have a distinct advantage over non-readers, because grammar and spelling just come more naturally because they see it all the time. But that’s just my opinion, no factual data to back that up other than personal experience, lol.

  2. KraftedKhaos says:

    according to the test at the following link, I read about 360 wpm… but I also had to stop and scroll down because the finish button wasn’t on my screen, LOL. So maybe 365? I find it sad that I seem to read so fast only because those around me read so slow :-/ I’m not as fast of a reader as I thought, I guess.

    http://www.staples.com/sbd/cre/marketing/technology-research-centers/ereaders/speed-reader/index.html

  3. KraftedKhaos says:

    I took the test again, with a longer passage (you click a little cog at the top and you can change the settings and the text) because it said that the longer text is more accurate, and this is what my result was the second time, reading 15 paragraphs of Alice in Wonderland:

    You read 398 words per minute.
    That makes you 59% faster than the national average.

    It also said:

    If you maintained this reading speed, you could read:

    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling in 3 hours and 13 minutes
    The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien in 20 hours and 2 minutes
    The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck in 7 hours and 6 minutes
    The Bible in 32 hours and 34 minutes
    War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy in 24 hours and 36 minutes

    Which seems to be pretty sufficient, I guess, lol. If nothing else, it’s pretty fun to try… but I have to admit, these books would take me longer because of how they are written. It takes me longer to read Stephen King than it does J.D. Robb, simply because King has a more complicated writing style. The simpler the style, the faster I read… I read romance novels (cheesy, I know, but they always have a happy ending!) and I read them much faster than I read Alice In Wonderland.

    If you try the test I posted, let me know what you thought of it 🙂

    • vozey says:

      I scored 196. I’m not a path mathematician, but I’d say you could read twice as many books as me.

      It is really slow for Lord of the Rings, his stuff is really thick.

      But, then again, it helps when you are “into” the book.

      I think this test i much better than the previous one I was taking. Thanks for finding and sharing!

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        No problem! I think the one you were using is great for IMPROVING your reading speed, but I think the one I found is good for checking your actual pace. 🙂

      • vozey says:

        The one I found had only the same text over and over.

        One of these day, though, I’m going to get my reading speed up there. I’m getting better…. slowly…

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        I tried actual ‘Speed Reading’ once, and didn’t like it because I didn’t retain squat after I’d read it. I’m sure with practice I could possibly accomplish this, but I feel that my reading speed is more than adequate for pleasure reading, and I often get sad that I’ve already reached the end of a book as it is… who wants to get through a book in 30 minutes? I don’t see the pleasure in it at all.

      • vozey says:

        I love to read. I love finishing a book. I’ve never been sad after reading a book, unless that was the intended purpose. But, honestly, it would be nice to not be the last one reading something at times. I view it more of a skill thing that I would like to have. That doesn’t mean I have to use it all the time once I have it.

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        Well, if you’re not looking to necessarily get up to ‘speed reading’ standards, just improve your reading speed, the only thing I know of is, just like any other skill, practice, practice, practice. By the time I reached high school, I think I’d probably read several thousand books. I used to sleep with an electric blanket on my bed, and hide under the covers, using the light on the temperature dial to read (even in the middle of summer, lol)!

        I feel sad when it’s a really good story, and I’m not ready for it to be over… when I want more. Which, of course, is the goal of a good writer, I guess, lol.

      • vozey says:

        Thermal blanket. LOL!

        I guess I can identify with that.

        But I also think that I need to shift outside of my comfort zone to read a little faster than I normally do to get to where I can read faster.

        I don’t know, Everyone suggests too many different ways to get there. One of them has to work!

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        But you know what? Honestly, it doesn’t matter if you’re the first one to finish, or the last… as long as you enjoyed it, that’s really all that matters. I think I read fast just so I can finish a book… I tend to get distracted easily, and if I don’t get through it quickly, I’ll never finish it because I’ll lose interest, lol!

      • vozey says:

        I’m the exact opposite, unless I drag writing a book out over a couple of months. I’ve done that a lot with the kindle, and I have a knack for remembering exactly what was going on like a week or two later. Even a month, I can still pick it up and keep going from where I left off in mid-scene.

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        Oh, I remember, and I *could* keep reading… I just lose interest, LOL.

      • vozey says:

        I think I’ve only ever started one book that I didn’t finish. I didn’t like a scene in the book, at least not at that time. After I read it, I put the book down and leave it.

      • vozey says:

        Oh, and I know it doesn’t matter who finishes first, and I do enjoy it. I’ve just got so many I want to read. The more that pile up in my To Read List, the more I wish I could get through them quicker. It would also help for when I have to learn new technologies with my programming work, or even while I’m reading blogs.

        I have a habit of pushing myself too hard at times. But, hey, look how far I’ve come. That’s all I have to say to make me get back to work… slacker….

        Though really, I can’t complain, I have really, really good retention and comprehension. And i don’t ever like to jeopardize that when I’m reading a book.

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        Same here, which is why I never really attempted speed reading more than just out of curiosity. I hated not retaining what I’d just read. I know they say it gets better, but… it irks me, LOL

    • vozey says:

      I made a plug in down below, what do you think?

      And romance books? My wife reads though. I’ve never read one, but I’m critiquing-partnering with an aspiring romance novelist. Completely different than what I’m use to. This one, at least, plays down the drama and tension at the start (in terms of the outside factors).

      I love fantasy stuff. Lord of the Rings, I have list of Read/Reading books over on the reading tab.

      I should be writing more on my book, but I just got done with 4 chapter, probably 90 page, overhaul of the narrative to medieval dialog. I’m exhausted of writing, at least for the moment.

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        I like to read just about anything, Sci-Fi, fantasy, romance, horror, whatever, but I generally stick to fiction. Non-fiction is usually boring, outside of the blogs I read which are technically non-fiction (most of them), but there’s a human element to them that is missing in biographies, etc.

        No, I lied, I do read non-fiction, but the only non-fiction I really enjoy reading is self-help books, LOL. I love to read them, about all manner of subjects.

        (And about the romance novels… I’m one of the few people who actually skips past the sex scenes… I’ve read thousands of them, and you can only read so many PG-13 descriptions before you’ve read them all, LOL)

      • vozey says:

        Well, I’ve got about a 1/4 of my book done, its posted around this blog somewhere. The sucker keeps getting longer and the end keeps moving further and further away.

        If you get a chance to read some of it, I’d be honored. If you’re more the type that would rather wait until it is done, that is cool, too!

        I’m starting to stockpile a pile of critiquers, slow-footed perhaps, but I’ve finally got a few, besides close family.

        Oh, and I can’t let my newest blog-friend go about uninformed. On you Gravatar thingy, you can make a link to your blog(s). It makes it easier for people to find your blog.

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        Hmm… I’ll have to check that out… I actually have no idea what the Gravatar thing is… I only put a picture there because I wanted to have something besides the little bubble people or blocky pictures that it does by default.

        I don’t mind critiquing, but please be specific about what you want critiqued, and how blunt you want it. It can be painful to hear negative comments about our ‘babies’, even when we know the person saying them isn’t TRYING to hurt our feelings, so on a scale of 1 – 10, with 1 being wrapped in cotton candy and 10 being critique your work like we’d never spoken and you’ll never actually read it, how would you like it? (Don’t bother to put 10, because I couldn’t ever really be that blunt, LOL… but I can be honest in the kindest way possible)

      • vozey says:

        Well, it is under Writing, Greybo. But I have more than 3 chapters. I can also send them by email and yes I would love and appreciate a critique and I would say 9. Tell me it sucks, just tell why, too.

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        Well, I usually do pretty in-depth critiques (which of course should always be taken with a grain of sand!) so they usually take me a while to complete, but I will be glad to give it a go… once I get through what you have here, you can send more if you have it.

        Just a cautionary note, in case you don’t know… if you plan to try to publish this traditionally (through a publisher), you may not want to put too much of it on-line, because it is then considered to be previously published, and many of them aren’t interested. 🙂

      • vozey says:

        Oh, and honestly, I don’t know much about the gravatar junk either. Supposed to connect to all these different places. blah! All I know is that you can create a link to your blog or other sites on there, so that when people click on your image, they can reach your site. Otherwise, it tends to be a dead-end.

Leave a Reply

