Against the Streets of Black

Dark Alley

Against the groundless streets of black

Make no sound and leave no tracks

For should a ghostly creature hear

Its hollowed eyes will draw near

The fiery lights burn my eyes

moon beams gleam where bodies lie

For fate and death must once unite

Life cannot escape its smite

And be I seen, or be I late

That will surely be my fate

 

by James Hall

inspiration found atΒ http://dreamyidea.wordpress.com/2013/09/17/in-the-alleys/

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Against the Streets of Black

  1. Brenda says:

    Scary! I’ll have to try your novel another time — here and gone again, that’s me. Three kids have I, a spare moment I have not. πŸ™‚

    • vozey says:

      I understand. I have two kids, and a book to write, and a full time job; I know how it goes.

      Thanks for visiting!

      • Brenda says:

        I see you do get it. You sounded so enraged that I wondered. I have to admit I only read the whole thing if it holds my interest. There has to be some mutuality. Something to entice.

      • vozey says:

        There are blogs that are such, and I find myself drifting away and never coming back. “Sorry. Just not doing it for me.” But, its still honest. I don’t go back and like their blog posts without reading them first.

        Mutual interest and reciprocity. Those are the blogs I spend the most time on.

      • Brenda says:

        Yes, I occasionally unfollow when things appear in my reader I really don’t like. Or when people post a huge number of things everyday — it clots my reader, and it takes way too much time. They tend to never visit and comment also, how can they? They don’t have time to. I prefer people who genuinely like fairy tales. That’s what I’m about, after all, and synergy makes me happy. If you give me a link to C1, I’ll come look. I prefer to start at the beginning. πŸ™‚

      • vozey says:

        I have a few that spam posts all day, and, at the same time, I have a few that do that and I still like them. But not many. They never visit or comment, but they will immediately promise that they intend to.

        I’ll have to check out some of your fairy tales. I saw you had a WHOLE BUNCH. I was thinking short stories and my face contorted, like this :0.

        I promised 2 short stories a month, and have only gotten out 1 in almost 2 months.

        The link to chapters and stories are right on the home page and top drop down, but here is a link to chap1 anyway!

        https://vozey.wordpress.com/2013/07/02/chapter-1-the-jaded-pearl/

        I had a friend on here start on chapter 3, and she thought she was on the first. Funny thing was, is she still liked it, and said it was good.

      • Brenda says:

        I’ve been blogging 6 months. I had 21 stories already written before I started blogging and a novel (which is not up). I’ve published 20 of those stories, and still have one left. I’ve also written near 20 more. I have 10 more in the hopper, that need work, and a whole list of ideas to work on. Lately I’ve been on a poetry kick. I’m finding I really like haiku. And it’s kind to followers, who don’t have a lot of time. I need to do more writing, but I’m not feeling well today, my husband is in CA and my daughter is playing her rock star guitar in my ear. At least homework is done except for reading Harry Potter with my middle child.

      • vozey says:

        I read the hobbit to my son when he was 2 and he liked it! I often read him younger aged books, but he follows the story lines. I stop to ask him questions regularly. I’m just praying that I can get him to learn his alphabet and how to read early, because he just loves it.

        You sound like a very good go to person. Is that self-published or traditional? I’m still set on going the traditional route first. At least give it my all.

        I’ve kind of been pooped out on write for 2 weeks. I wrote 200 pages and cut double edits on it in less than 3 months. 300 pages of 600+ pages complete. I’m still looking for the gas station at the middle. I need to fill up!

        I’ve also got 2 more stories I’ve barely started. One’s more fantasy though stilted towards sci-fi. The other is based on a true story and is about a bum’s life, or something similar to that.

      • Brenda says:

        Wow, that’s a lot of pages!! Good going. Aside from the blog, I am hoping to publish traditionally. Or perhaps fund through donations instead of through publishing. I haven’t figured that part out. I would love for my books to be in libraries one day. That’s what keeps me going. I liked your first chapter a lot.

      • vozey says:

        Thank you. I appreciate the feedback. You never have to hold back with me. I can take a critique. πŸ™‚

        As for books in libraries: you and me both! Maybe we’ll help each other get there.

      • Brenda says:

        That would be great!

Leave a Reply

