To All the Goons I’ve Liked Before

Goons by SeizureDemon

Goons by SeizureDemon

I’ve noticed that there are several different strategies that WordPress Users will use to gain a readership. Of course, everyone wants their stuff to be read. Few of us are content talking to an empty page. And even those that have such lonesome blogs (my heart goes out to you), they still hope that someone will come along sooner or later. Some might even feel that number of “likes” or number of followers is some kind of proof of success. I feel like that is only true in theory. If your followers are not reading your posts or making comments, what does it amount to? Its like winning a beauty pageant, only to have everyone leave before they announce the winner.

I’ve found the best way to develop true readers, a readership, is to take an interest in the blogs of others. To all my readership, whether you visit frequently or not , I thank you. If you comment, I love you. You know who you are. I’m commenting on your blogs and reading your books. I know I’m slow but I am dedicated! This post is for you (to get a laugh or nod out of), but not aimed at you.

Some WordPress Users use strategies that are… well… less than honest. Those that are trying to win that superficial beauty pageant. Unfortunately, WordPress seems flooded with shallow users employing these tactics. So, I’ve thought, “Wow, that poem was really well-liked”. Later, I look at my stats, and they say <b>no one</b> visited that page. Hmm… Odd. I’ve got 5 “likes” on it… Oh, well.

Well, today, I upload 2 more chapters (yeah, you are falling behind, but that’s okay, you’re dedicated too right!). Well, much to my surprise, a few people “liked” them. A few even dug in, returned to my first chapter and “liked” it. I felt a warm and fuzzy feeling inside, other than the comments were rather… unbecoming. So, I hit up some of those fellow bloggers that had paid me a visit out of the kindness of their heart. Well, to make a long story short, I had a suspicion a few didn’t even read the first chapter. They would tell me all about their latest book and such, but when asked of mine… well, they didn’t have much (anything) to say. Indeed, contact had ceased. What we have here is a failure to communicate.

Well, I made up my own riddle today. I even felt it was a pretty easy one to get. A quick and witty poetic read. It started getting likes, but I noticed no one, even after 5 likes, no one bothered to guess at the riddle. Who the hell reads a riddle and doesn’t attempt it? Does that mean if I made a blog post with a piece of chicken as the picture and asked, “What is this?” at the end, no one would tell me (except you guys), but it would have arbitrary “likes”?

What is sad about these posers, is they will “like” this post, and not even know that I’m badmouthing them. But, this is wherein the joke lies! Anyone reading this who makes a comment, you are an honorable person. Even if you just say, “Here”. To those who liked it without making a comment, I think, at best you are deceitful and I honestly don’t appreciate faulty “likes” anyway. But namely, you are selfish, shallow, and stupid. I’m not going to waste my time on your blog, unless I post on there that I think you are selfish and stupid. Other strategies might include liking all of your content, but never bothering to read any of it. Don’t worry, vengeance is stewing in my mind, the worst is yet to come.

Thank you wonderful ladies and gentlemen! If you truly agree with this post, reblog it!

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to To All the Goons I’ve Liked Before

  1. I feel your pain. The internet I once knew was a backyard of shenanigans, fights, masochism, and attention seekers. This once wild-eyed internet kid has been forced to ‘like’ ‘comment’ and ‘favourite’ his way into fun. As if careful wit and charm are the only way to elicit a response, to wake the drooling beast of apathy prowling the internet. Content has increased, voices have become more distant, and yet more and more people are only willing to engage on a surface level.

    The internet is a positive place. Opinions are opinions they say, but aren’t you scared to hear mine? From the grass roots of cultural-revolt to blatant conformity, what is there to be done? The online world is so accessible, they say? Do we make ourselves accessible?

    A kid shouting in a mirror to be heard.
    An adult looking for a memory.
    The depressed looking for hope.
    A procrastinator find a fantasy.

    The internet. How odd. How odd!!! Thanks for the thoughts sir.

    • vozey says:

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

      No, opinions don’t scare me. They may slightly change my view on the world or give me a new perspective or angle I’d never seen before.

      I fear the beast you have named: Apathy. For of all the things that we can do in this world, to care and listen to one another are the greatest. Another beast is selfishness. For this I see not only here, sitting in my chair before my desk staring at the behaviors of others, but also on the streets as I drive, on television, at work, everywhere.

  2. Well, I’m certainly going to say ‘Here’ because I’ve read the whole post. The truth is, I fear, that following more than a few blogs scrupulously is almost impossible , because reading and commenting on posts is quite time consuming of itself, never mind writing you own posts. That being the case, I normally do comment, but sometimes I just ‘Like’ to show the Blogger I passed through and read their stuff, even if I didn’t have the time to comment. Today, as you can tell, I’ve got quite a lot of time, so my comment is too long. We never seem to get it right !!

    • vozey says:

      This comment is neither too long nor is a like necessarily too short. It is whether you truly read the post. Thank you.

      And yes, I agree, following 50 blogs is impossible. When I first started, I followed many bloggers, now, I usually don’t follow unless I like their stuff, or if they are seeking out and commenting on my stuff.

      But I have those that I know read my stuff. There are those that if I go see what they are doing, invariably, they will come see what I’m doing.

  3. Akira Okihu says:

    Reblogged this on Thoughts From a Mind Full of Dreams and commented:
    I don’t know if it matters or not anymore,but I agree on that.

  4. I agree with you but I think you were a little too harsh on the pretentious bloggers

    • vozey says:

      When I wrote the post, I was a little frustrated and disappointed. Maybe I was a little rough. Yet, most of the people it is aimed at probably missed it anyway. Look at the figures. 12 likes with about a fourth of them making a comment or comments.

    • vozey says:

      Yet, at the same time, this has been my most popular blog post ever. Most comments from such a variety of users. I’ve also met another writer that I think we will form an excellent long-term blog friendship.

      I’m not really too worried about it now. I haven’t sought vengeance or anything. I mean, it might make a really good way of pruning my list of followers, but I’m not so anxious to do this anyways. I spend most of my time on those blogs that I resonate with and achieve a friendship with the creator(s). The rest, they might get an occasional view.

      Thank you for your comment. I hope you enjoy my content!

  5. Brenda says:

    Well, if you hadn’t ranted, I wouldn’t have opened and visited, because I am occasionally less than perfect at following promptly. But I do read a lot. Eventually. And I am HERE. And then gone… πŸ™‚

  6. NOAEfame says:

    I really enjoy the way you think. I really love it. This is the beginning of something new.

  7. dfunpen says:

    Hi,

    I learn a lot from those of you who think through all the drama involved in blogging and becoming popular through blogging. About who is true and sho is not.

    You have a right to be angry but not spiteful, and it least you do others the courtesey of checking on their blogs and liking or making real comments. That’s a plus. In doing so, u still will encounter a true blogger who trully wants to meet others and learn from them. Time is never enough for anyone in a day to read blogs let alone regularly post, but there are true people out there. They can still be found in the myrad of falsehood.

  8. dfunpen says:

    Hi

    At least you do others the courtsey of dropping by on their blogs and reading or commenting. There are still bloggers who want to grow and learn and meet others. They still about in the myrad of falsehood.

    Ill admit there are not enough hours in the day for anyone to live and still read blogs and find time to post on theirs or comment on others. But there are still ppl who like what they see and press the like button.

    • vozey says:

      In response to both of your comments:

      I’m glad if my post here has been informative in anyway.

      Well, if this post seems anyway spiteful, I assure you it is not. I actually intended more as a test or prank (I thought it was hilariously ironic) just to see if people truly were. Really, only about half. That still sounds bad, but in a world where it always seems like more than half the people in the world are out to make your life miserable, it is nice to know that the odds may not be in their favor. That maybe, maybe, there is still some hope for humanity.

      I’ve truly been astounded by the results of this post. It drew in 10x as many views as any other post I’d done. It doubled my old record that I had just broke the previous day with 5 posts! One post.

      But, numbers are nothing. I’ve connected with some excellent bloggers. I’ve gotten 20-30 heartfelt comments out of it.

      People don’t like to be deceived, and, apparently, when they sense they have discovered another with a reciprocal attitude, and honest attitude, they try to make that connection.

  9. The only thing I would say about this is that I often read the blogs I follow in my email, and then ‘like’ the post if I see it in my reader, knowing I’ve read and enjoyed it. That may well show up as a shallow like. That said, I’ve noticed WordPress have stopped me doing it, which I’m afraid has led to fewer likes all round. I read so many blog posts in my email that I don’t get a chance to comment on them all. But your post has made me more determined to make the effort! I don’t want to be considered shallow.

  10. I don’t usually reblog, please don’t tell me I am selfish and stupid! Just wanted to say thanks for following my blog, even if you didn’t leave a comment. πŸ™‚ With a name like Karen you can never do no wrong because we are unique! πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

    • vozey says:

      I never said anything about not reblogging being stupid or selfish. I said that people who like posts without actually reading them are selfish. I think you are wonderful Karen. I don’t usually reblog either, unless I think the post is just out of this world. I appreciate your comments, reblog. I’ve got one of your short stories in my tab, just haven’t gotten to it yet. I’m writing. I do most of my writing on the weekends. Its the only time I can pawn off the kids and wife and enjoy peace and quiet.

      I hope you also have a great weekend.

      • Ugh! I misread what you said. (Hangs head in shame)
        πŸ™‚ Hope you get a lot of writing done today. I am finishing a beta read for another author today so writing will have to wait till tomorrow.

      • vozey says:

        I keep getting post-beta requests. One of them didn’t even say it was a post-beta. I let the red ink fly. Then, they were like,” well, won’t be making any of those changes”….

        Sigh… Silly people…

      • I’ve done a beta read for this author before and he wants all the details πŸ™‚ He’s also helped me on an illustrated children’s book, telling me what he thought worked and what didn’t, for the most part, I heeded his advice.

      • vozey says:

        I’ve got an excellent critique partner. My wife is my beta reader, and refuses to read it before it is complete.

        Brenda, who commented above, writes fairy tales. She might be a good critique partner for you.

        I’m always up for reading in exchange for having someone read a bit of mine.

        So, you have 3 blogs… uh… I can barely keep up with one… uh….

  11. Pingback: A Successful Blog Post: To All the Goons I’ve Like Before | My First Fantasy Novel

  12. KraftedKhaos says:

    Often we hear it said that the opposite of LOVE is HATE.

    Please allow me to disagree.

    For the true opposite of love

    Is Apathy.

    For the opposite of that which holds us in thrall

    Is not to care

    About it

    At all.

    (A little ditty inspired by the beginning comments, which I am now going to have to post on my own blog, LOL)

    • vozey says:

      Thank you, but I have to disagree.

      People believe apathy is a middle ground between love and hate. This is false.

      Apathy is the opposite of hope.

      To be without hope is to be without care.

      Hope is the building block of our dreams, both for ourselves and what we wish for others.

      When we do not have hope for someone, we do not take an interest in them. We don’t believe they are capable of attaining what we would like to see them obtain.

      A person that is apathetic to their own cause, is apathetic to all causes. They slide through life focusing on caring for the most trivial things they can find.

      They don’t care if they make a difference in this world.

      They don’t care if they succeed or fail.

      They don’t care if they help or hurt the world.

      They don’t care if they run you off the road.

      They don’t dream. They are content to live their lives accomplishing nothing, wasting everything.

      The biggest problem in the world today is that people have little hope.

  13. Pingback: Apathy (A Poem) | Free, Fun or Interesting

  14. KraftedKhaos says:

    However, by the by, I have ‘liked’ something that I haven’t visited the actual page of more than once… if it is a short post, and I can read it in its entirety on my Reader, I will ‘like’ it without clicking on it.

    Using WordPress’s reader, you can even comment on a post without actually clicking on it… which I have also done.

    It wasn’t that I didn’t read it, or that I simply wanted ‘paybacks’,

    Also, if you don’t use the ‘read more’ tag in your post, one can read your entire post (and like it) from your home page, and never actually visit the ‘official’ page of the post… so if you want to make sure you’re keeping proper track of who is visiting where, use the ‘read more’ tag on posts longer than two paragraphs or so. πŸ˜‰ That way, to read the entire post, they have to visit the actual post page, not just the home page!

    Cheers!

    • vozey says:

      I agree with all of that. Done most of that myself. But, the proof is in the pudding. about 50% of people are out for number 1, and they don’t care how they get there.

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        True… but they aren’t the ones we write for, they aren’t the ones we write, read, re-read, edit, re-edit, and post for, either πŸ˜‰

        I became obsessed with ‘improving my numbers’ at one point… I didn’t go about it in that way, I found blogs, read posts, and only commented/liked if I had something worth contributing (at least in my own opinion, LOL).

        Now I have decided that the words that I write, they should have meaning. They should have a reason. While I do still make silly posts, inconsequential posts… even the smallest post can have an impact we don’t know about on someone else. Even if that impact is only a smile when they needed it most.

        I’ve decided that I will post what I ‘feel’ I should post, and if I don’t ‘feel’ it, I won’t force it.

        I don’t need big numbers or marketing gimmicks to provide meaningful content, because I believe that those who need it most will find it, no matter what I do or don’t do.

        πŸ™‚

      • vozey says:

        I make a note of trying to respond to most posts I read, even if I didn’t feel it was all that great. I’ll say what I disagreed with or where I thought improvement was needed.

        I just know it is nice to see someone comment. I honestly wish that WordPress offered a couple more categories for other people’s posts, such as “Read” and “Want to Read”. Likes should be replaced with a rating bar, in my opinion.

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        There’s a ‘star’ rating system, but people have to put it in place on their own blogs… it’s a choice the blog owner/author makes.

        It’s in place on my own blog, if you haven’t noticed it before.

      • vozey says:

        Yes, but being as it is not the default rating system, it gets ignored by most users.

        It is the same reason Internet Explorer has any users, it comes with computers by default.

        I added you to my recommendation list:

        https://vozey.wordpress.com/2013/09/23/a-successful-blog-post-to-all-the-goons-ive-like-before/

      • KraftedKhaos says:

        LMAO!

        …one garbage man at a time.

        Hilarious! Thank you. I really needed that laugh right about now!

  15. sweetlilme says:

    You know, I’ve often wondered how that worked – so many likes, so few actual visits. Sad days.

    • vozey says:

      Thanks for reading.

      Not sad days, happy days. Can’t let the shallow ruin the day. They get more attention and credit than they deserve. I’m sure they ruin enough days (and lives) while they are out driving on the roads with as much apathy.

      I’d rather have one great friend to share a fulfilling relationship with than 100 that I have barely any relationship with. This post brought me honest friends.

      I just don’t have time for posers. Sad days for them.

  16. nomibug says:

    I love riddles πŸ™‚

  17. Pingback: WHAT’S THE SECRET? | SERENDIPITY

Leave a Reply

