The Riddle of Keys Ends Thursday! 50,000 Word Critique!

riddleMy Riddle of Keys remains unsolved!

Rewards are a blog link and, yes I’ll up it, to a 50,000 word critique on book or blog to the first who can answer my riddle!

If no one has answered by Thursday, I will sadly post the answer and laugh at the barrage of face-palms.

I’ve collect up all the hints:
1. The answer is a single word.
2. Think simplistic
3. What is grammatical odd about the riddle
4. Ampersand is a contraction of And Per Se And

Your final hint comes from MishaBurnett for being the closest to the answer:

Dollar is $ or 4
Exclamation’s Point is ! or 1
At is @ or 2
Asterisk’s Mark is * or 8
Number is # or 3
Percent is % or 5
And Per Se And is & or 7
Caret is ^ or 6

Which gives me $!@*#%&^
or
41283576

41283576 is the key, but not the answer!

Thanks,

James the Riddler

This entry was posted in Blog, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to The Riddle of Keys Ends Thursday! 50,000 Word Critique!

  1. Akira Okihu says:

    WHY YOU…!!! Now I am stuck trying to resolve this! 🙂 Seriously,how simple must I go for a string of numbers? I tried Alphabet letters,I tried to match those numbers with the first letter of every word written. What else could make sense? This “simple” thingy is kicking me in the face. It is a string of numbers! How can you think simple on that? 😉

    Also,PS: have you seen my “Closing down entries to the project” post? Because nearly nobody answered me and I believe it got lost between the comments.

    • vozey says:

      Sorry about that. I was busy over the weekend. Weekends I dump my soul into by book.

      I’m so glad I’ve conned you into looking at my riddle again. And yes, the simple thing is still kicking you in the face, you are still thinking too hard.

  2. Akira Okihu says:

    The simplest I found: the answer is “Numbers”… 😉

    • vozey says:

      Almost that simple, but there is a little more to it.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Keyboard! There are symbols,letters and numbers.

      • vozey says:

        The answer is on the keyboard, but alas, is not the keyboard.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        9! Nine! It is the only number that you didn’t mention! *fingers crossed*

      • vozey says:

        Your guesses are getting warmer all the time.

        I didn’t mention 0…

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Parentheses? 9 is ( and 0 is ) ? *please,please,please* :D.

      • vozey says:

        The poem deals only with numbers less than 9 and greater than 0. 🙂

        The sad thing is, the only thing holding you back you probably learned when you were 2 or 3. 🙂

      • Akira Okihu says:

        To count? I believe I am getting colder and colder now…

      • vozey says:

        “A little closer… A little closer!”
        – Shredder (TMNT II)

        😛

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Does that mean I am getting nearer the answer? Because all I can think of that I learned at 2 or 3 years is to talk,to count,to walk. To walk isn’t the case here,so is it to talk?

      • vozey says:

        You are getting nearer to the answer.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Haven’t I already checked everything a child can learn at the age of 2 and has some kind of connection to numbers?

      • vozey says:

        I think so. Works for me. You listed the reference. My subtle hints are probably only confusing you.

        Look at the numbers again. The numbers are the key. 🙂

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Off topic but by looking at the time on your blog you are three hours before me. At me is 9 PM at you is 6 PM. (that’s just collecting information for my project,so I know when to put the meeting on).

      • vozey says:

        It is 1:30 pm here right now.

        I’ve noticed it doesn’t report my time zone properly. 😛

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Ok,so between my Yu-Gi-Oh(I don’t know many magic the gathering games,and I am fond of Yu-Gi-Oh) duels and your riddle I was getting closer and closer to the answer. Let me recap:

        1)It is on the keyboard.
        2)It has to do with that string.
        3)To count and to talk are near the answer.

        Left on the keyboard are the letters,Shift,Caps Lock,Tab,Num Lock,Control,Alt,Esc,Space.

        Either you are a mastermind or a very very unlucky person who wanted to make an easy riddle and made a hard one…

      • vozey says:

        Well given the options, I must be a mastermind.

        The answer is none of those keys…

        In fact, the answer on the keyboard is… in the string… 🙂

        Have fun!

      • Akira Okihu says:

        I know the answer is in the string,but I can’t put my finger on it. The fourth letter is R the first is Q(Rqw…) it already doesn’t make sense. Am I thinking too complicated again?

      • vozey says:

        The answer is on the keyboard, keys limited to what is in the string. (I’m limiting your number of keys to search through to 8)

        Have fun!

      • Akira Okihu says:

        I knew there were only 8 keys I need to look for. The question would be which?(and please don’t tell me,there were already soooooo many hints I can’t connect). Because QWERTYUI would be Qwerty UI,which doesn’t make sense.

      • vozey says:

        I did tell you which keys. 🙂

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Anyway at me is 21:52 so Good Night! (9:52 PM) Tomorrow I wake at 7 AM to go to school so I have to sleep. If tomorrow this riddle isn’t solved I will come back to it. I can’t even play games or do anything else because I am stuck at your riddle! It is so annoying that I haven’t found the answer!

      • vozey says:

        Sounds good. Good luck!

        Sorry for being so cruel!

      • Akira Okihu says:

        12345678 These are the keys… Are those in a way connected to the other words from the riddle or are they separate(the answer is in them,or in the whole riddle?)

      • vozey says:

        I love your persistence. 🙂

        Yes, they are in a way connected to the riddle

      • vozey says:

        Any ideas come to you in your sleep? 🙂

      • Akira Okihu says:

        In my sleep? Not about the riddle,but I had this weird dream where I had 3 or 4 cats(one or two different from my own) and i was a afraid of something. Then,in a weird turning of events,my brothers asked me what do we do with “Soleil”(which I knew for a reason it was a story we were writing). [true dream]. I am wondering if it had anything to do with your riddle… 😀 On another note, what is your UTC(GMT,EST,anything) after all? So I know when to place the meeting.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Then this brings me to my age old dilemma that I think too complicated… I tried simply turning Dollar into 4,Exclamation Point into 1 and so on,but the only lyric that makes sense is : Dawn comes at 1

      • vozey says:

        Dawn comes at 1

        interesting Fact. 🙂

      • Akira Okihu says:

        I said it makes sense as a line,not in reality. Because “worth a 4 more than money” doesn’t make sense.

      • vozey says:

        And I’m telling you in makes sense in reality, but not in the line. 🙂

      • Akira Okihu says:

        How persistent I might be,this riddle kicked me hard. I know that there is still a solution,but my brain thinks I depleted all of them.

      • vozey says:

        Dawn comes at 1

        Don’t give up. I think everyone else has. I’m really not a mad genius, that I know of.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Why do you keep bringing that up? You yourself said “Dawn comes at 1 ” doesn’t make sense in the poem.

      • vozey says:

        It is one of the few parts that does make sense in the riddle. Along with line 5. Until you figure those lines out, you’ll never figure out the poem.

        If you are sitting at a computer the answer is right in front of you, laid out in order.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        But then if *Dawn comes at 1*, *Dotting in 3, 1 , 2 then 3* still doesn’t make sense.

      • vozey says:

        Doesn’t make sense in the line, but makes sense in reality.

        Refined: the lines don’t make sense, numbers make sense.

        Make sense of the numbers, only then will the lines make sense.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Is the answer time? It’s worth more than money,and everyone gets it’s dawn. AT could be afterlife. I can’t put my finger on the next two lines… And then the darkness could be your death,when everyone misses you more,but again I can’t put my finger on “bright as a caret”.

        Or is it life? Dawn comes at 1,when you are born. Following 2,which is when you are raised. Then 8 is when you are old,which dots in everything you did in your life. Then you die,in darkness,and everyone misses you more.

        Or am I thinking too complicated again? After all,I don’t see how I could learn about life or time at the age of 2 or 3.

      • vozey says:

        All good guesses. But none are correct. You are trying to solve to soon. First, solve the riddle of keys, then solve the riddle of words.

        The riddle is that the riddle is two riddles with the answer leading to the answer. But neither is complicated, both are simple.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        I don’t see something simple in 41283576 . It can’t be converted to text,it doesn’t have a riddle corespondent. It is tied to the riddle,but the first riddle is in this string of numbers… Let’s see 4+1+2+8+3+5+7+6=36 V36=6 THE ANSWER IS 6! Now seriously,this riddle kicked me hard. I need to believe you that if I don’t by some miracle solve it until Thursday,it will be the biggest face palm eve.

      • vozey says:

        The answer is not mathematical.

        The answer is logical.

        Make order of chaos, and you will have the answer.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        You mentioned once every number from 1 to 8 so I guess the order is 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 . But it doesn’t help me.

      • vozey says:

        Oh, but it does help you

        You have but to apply it.

        You have the two strings!

        Now write me the two….

        Oh wait… that would be too good of a hint… 🙂

  3. Akira Okihu says:

    12345678 and 41283576 … So I wrote

    asterisk mark
    worth a dollar more than money
    dawn comes at exclamations point
    bright as a caret
    if there is at,at shall follow,
    dotting in number 1 2 then 3
    and per se and I be
    only in darkness my percent of value may be.

    The fourth lyric being the first and so on. No sense.
    Then I tried this

    worth a Dollar more than money. 4
    dawn comes at Exclamation’s Point 1
    if there it is at, At shall follow. 2
    Asterisk’s Mark 8
    dotting in Number, 1, 2, then 3 3
    only in darkness my Percent of value may be 5
    And Per Se And I be: 7
    bright as a Caret. 6
    (the numbers mean the order) Still no sense.

    • vozey says:

      So very close. But you are trying to put in order what is out of order, not what is in order.

      Shift by symbols, not by lines.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        !@#$%^&* and $!@*#%&^

        12345678 and 41283576

        I don’t really see what you mean by “shift by symbols”. But it’s time for me to go to sleep(again) ;tomorrow is a new school day. I hope to be able to solve your riddle though,being the last day.

      • vozey says:

        Good night. You may solve it yet. Persistence is a good quality.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Thanks! “Shift by symbols”… I can’t put my finger on that… I don’t see what could happen if I would change the symbols order and also can’t see how… Because they are already shifted in both ways I can see…

      • vozey says:

        Scratch that. You have the right idea, but you executed it wrong. I don’t want to confuse you.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Alright then,good night!

      • Akira Okihu says:

        “Now write me the two….” You know,in some states it is illegal to let me hang like that ;). I still wonder what those two are: lines,lyrics,poems,mad cows dancing in the fields? Anyway,this time good night for good.

  4. Akira Okihu says:

    I was totally stuck with school today and didn’t have time to think about your riddle. But anyway,if I don’t answer it this night,please put the answer tomorrow. It’s no need for a favor or something. I will think about your riddle nonetheless.

  5. Lenny Schultz says:

    worth a Exclamation’s Point more than money.
    dawn comes at At
    if there it is at, Number shall follow.
    Dollar
    dotting in Percent, 1, 2, then 3
    only in darkness my Caret of value may be
    And Per Se And I be:
    bright as a Asterisks Mark.

    I think I have them in the wrong order…

  6. Adrian B says:

    I try tu use the first leter from every number and all I got is SOFTEST .

    • vozey says:

      Not quite. 🙂

      It really is amazing to see what people come up with. I have a feeling no one is going to get it before I reveal the answer tomorrow.

  7. Pingback: Announcing a new blog! | Thoughts From a Mind Full of Dreams

Leave a Reply

