Solution to Riddle of Keys

riddle

Nobody found the answer to by riddle! So now comes the times for the big reveal!

 

worth a Dollar more than money.

dawn comes at Exclamation’s Point

if there it is at, At shall follow.

Asterisk’s Mark

dotting in Number, 1, 2, then 3

only in darkness my Percent of value may be

And Per Se And I be:

bright as a Caret.

 

Through capitalization, we notice that each of the symbols 1-8 are special in this set and apply to those 8 keys on the keyboard. They occur as 41283576. Given the hints of “dawn comes at Exclamation’s Point” and dotting in Number, 1,2, then 3, we can see that the solution involves sorting the numbers in ascending order. 12345678. If we pair each symbol placement with the line placement we get:

 

4- worth a Dollar more than money.

1 – dawn comes at Exclamation’s Point

2 – if there it is at, At shall follow.

8 – Asterisk’s Mark

3 – dotting in Number, 1, 2, then 3

5 – only in darkness my Percent of value may be

7 – And Per Se And I be:

6 – bright as a Caret.

 

Rearrange. Nobody got to this point.

 

1 – dawn comes at Exclamation’s Point

2 – if there it is at, At shall follow.

3 – dotting in Number, 1, 2, then 3

4- worth a Dollar more than money.

5 – only in darkness my Percent of value may be

6 – bright as a Caret.

7 – And Per Se And I be:

8 – Asterisk’s Mark

 

We see the answer is synonymous with Asterisk’s Mark. We also know that it is something that “dots” and has value only at night. So, the asterisk, if you look at it, also resembles a star.

 

That’s the answer. Star.

 

Thanks for playing! I hope you’ve had as much fun as me! Maybe next time I’ll go a little easier on you.

 

Maybe,

James the Riddler

This entry was posted in Blog, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Solution to Riddle of Keys

  1. I recently stumbled upon your blog, and must tell you how interesting you, and your articles are. Looking forward to befriending with you. 🙂 http://funnytimez.wordpress.com/

  2. Akira Okihu says:

    A star!!!! A STAR!!! *Extra triple mega double quadruple palm* A STAR!!!

    • vozey says:

      I love you Akira. Please do not kill me or hate me, please do not do these things to yourself either. 🙂

      Was it too hard of a poem or too simple?

      • Akira Okihu says:

        Well,it still looks hard. And it still is(was) hard. But I can’t believe I haven’t seen it!

        “worth a Dollar more than money. 4
        dawn comes at Exclamation’s Point 1
        if there it is at, At shall follow. 2
        Asterisk’s Mark 8
        dotting in Number, 1, 2, then 3 3
        only in darkness my Percent of value may be 5
        And Per Se And I be: 7
        bright as a Caret. 6”

        I was so close! But,in a way I am glad nobody solved it. I mean, 50000 word crituque? What is that? 20 pages? 😀

      • vozey says:

        No that is more like 300 pages of a book. As for blog posts? uh… I have no idea, would depend on post size. For some, that would be everything they have.

      • Akira Okihu says:

        You are right,I was thinking about characters( 50000 characters took me to write 20 something pages for a book)

      • vozey says:

        Character count is more like 300,000, at least based on my own writing. 🙂

      • Akira Okihu says:

        59.065 characters for 24 pages,but I got to admit,it was more dialogue than story.

  3. Adrian B says:

    A star you are.I am looking forward for the next riddle. It was challenging.

  4. LindaGHill says:

    GAH!!
    hehe. Thanks for the facepalm. 😛 Still, I never would have got it.

  5. No! Oh my goodness I am facepalming hard. At one point, I rearranged the riddle just like that but got stumped about what it meant! I feel like an idiot… It’s amazing the things you miss that are right before your eyes, clear as day.

  6. MishaBurnett says:

    I think the reason that no one solved it is that it worked on several levels simultaneously. Some of us were thinking mechanically, some of us were thinking conceptually, but no one person was working it both ends at once.

  7. KraftedKhaos says:

    I still like my answer 😉 lol

    Good job on stumping everyone!

  8. It makes so much sense. I guess none of us were expecting a triple layer puzzle, that was the defeating blow. How is it possible that writers aren’t thinking outside the box? Maybe it was because people’s answers were “close” that everyone aimed for “close” when in reality it was just the beginning. Nevertheless, a brilliant poem sir!! Also, I’m happy to say my assignments are over and I’m planning to read the next chapter tonight 😛

    • vozey says:

      Originally, I was accepting just Asterisk’s Mark. For someone to notice the Capitalization and rearrange the stanzas.

      It was worded a little harshly, even when in the proper order, which is probably what made it so difficult.

      I’ll have to do that again. It was fun.

      I’m excited to hear that your assignments are over. I’ve honestly missed your interaction. I’ve only got 2 more things on your content, I think, before I’ve read it all. I think I’m going to go hop on the Ellipitical exercise machine and stare at the wall and see if some motivation and ideas will come to me. Got a long road trip tomorrow. I want to be pumped to write out a chapter or two this weekend. Press pass this midpoint tribulation.

      I’ll be available though for a few more minutes!

      • It was certainly fun! Definately clever. I’ve seen similar riddles in adventure games, I guess you know to expect ‘curve balls’ in stuff like that. I wasn’t expecting it from yourself, but I like that I know that now. I prize a good wit.

        Hope your road trip goes well!

      • vozey says:

        Was kind of a drone of shop, shop, shop til you drop.

      • Haha doesn’t sound like much of a road trip. My idea of a road trip is sights, bush, swimming, picnics, and adventure…I guess that will change when I get married though. haha

      • vozey says:

        It wasn’t too bad. Actually, my father-in-law is the one that is hard to shop with. He is the most indecisive person you could shop with. He will window shop the same store for 45 minutes. And then complain about it. 😛

        Yesterday, I was tired of shopping, took my journal with me. Then, I got lots of writing done. Wonder why I didn’t think of it sooner.

  9. nomibug says:

    Woah. Clearly I still have too much ‘baby brain’ for such complex word games. I am heartily ashamed. I need to get back into practice 🙂

    • vozey says:

      I might make the next one a little more easy. Thanks for coming back and making an attempt. You guys have made it so fun, I will have to do it again.

  10. Pingback: Announcing a new blog! | Thoughts From a Mind Full of Dreams

Leave a Reply

