Comma Simplified: Miscellaneous Commas

Beef

Commas for Quotes

Whenever a piece of dialog is split, there will always be at least two commas, one inside the quote before the split, and one before the opening of the second part.

EX: “If you want a piece of him,” Allen puffed, “you’ll have to go through me first.”

Commas for Contrast
Commas can be used to help express contrast.

EX: What killed the crops was the flood, not the drought.

Commas for Confusion
If a sentence or phrase would be confusing without the comma, it should be there.

EX: Before leaving his wife Elaine kissed him.
EX: Before leaving, his wife Elaine kissed him.

That’s it! That will be 99% of the commas you will ever need. Congratulations, you have comma sense now!

This entry was posted in Blog, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Comma Simplified: Miscellaneous Commas

  1. Pingback: Simplifying the Comma | My First Fantasy Novel

  2. silverliningsanddustbunnies says:

    Thanks! I, have always, overused commas, when I write. Whenever I pause, in my mind’s dialog, I throw one in, guess I’ve been afraid, I’ll maybe, slip downhill, or something! lol
    Seriously, commas have always been my weakest grammatical point! Appreciated the article.

  3. Pingback: The Author Extension Community » Comma Simplified: Miscellaneous Commas by My First Fantasy Novel

Leave a Reply

