Comma Simplified – The Silly Old Adjective Comma

I did not invent this.

I did not invent this.

This post is an exception to the rest. Namely, I’ve said where you need to add commas. This one will tell you where not to put them.

 

If you remember the Series Comma, you know if you line up a bunch of adjectives, they should be separated by commas. You always separate adjectives by a comma, right? WRONG!

You only separate LIKE adjectives (These are coordinate adjectives). See the chart above.

EX: I love expensive, beautiful clothes. (Series comma)

EX: Those delicious square Italian wheat crackers are my favorite. (Royal comma. It’s like a royal flush.)

 

That’s it! Now there are just a few tricks to figure out which is which. Can you put and between them and it doesn’t sounds awkward? Then it’s a series.

EX: I love expensive and beautiful clothes. (That works)

EX: Those delicious square Italian and wheat crackers are my favorite. (this one not so much.)

 

The other tip is you cannot reorder Cumulative Adjectives (unalike).

EX: I love beautiful, expensive clothes. (works fine)

EX: Those Italian delicious square wheat crackers are my favorite. (this one not so much.)

EX: Those square Italian delicious wheat crackers are my favorite. (this one not so much.)

EX: Those wheat square Italian  delicious crackers are my favorite. (this one not so much.)

EX: Those delicious Italian square wheat crackers are my favorite. (this one not so much.)

 

This entry was posted in Blog, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comma Simplified – The Silly Old Adjective Comma

  1. Pingback: Simplifying the Comma | My First Fantasy Novel

Leave a Reply

